Sometimes in your organization, the users' hierarchical status may change or they may move to different business units. In such cases, you might have to deactivate those users after transferring ownership of the records to other users. Note that deactivating a user is different from deleting a user. When you deactivate a user:
- The user will no longer be able to access the CRM account.
- No one will be able to log into the service using the deactivated ID.
- You are free to use the same user license to add another user.
- The user license is not canceled. You will be billed for the number of user licenses that you had bought.
- The user will be listed under Deactivated Users.
- If you decide to activate the user again, you can re-invite the deactivated user.
To deactivate a user
- Log in to the CRM with Administrator privileges.
- Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Users.
- In the Users page, select the Active Users view. Point your mouse to the user you wish to deactivate and click the Settings icon. Click Deactivate.
The user will be deactivated and a system generated email will be sent to the corresponding user.

To activate a user
- Log in to the CRM with Administrator privileges.
- Click Setup Users & Permissions > Users.
- In the Users page, select the Inactive Users view.
- Move your mouse pointer to the user that you want to activate and click the Settings icon. Click Activate.
The user will be activated and a system generated email will be sent to the corresponding user.
