After creating roles, you can assign them to the users in your organization. A user with an Administrator profilewill have access to all the data irrespective of the role assigned to the user.
To assign roles to the users
- Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Users.
- In the Users page, click the <User Name>.
- In the User Details page, click Edit.
- Select the specific Role from the lookup box.
- Click Save.

Edit Roles
You
can modify the user roles as per changes in your organizational
hierarchy. As part of the modification of the roles, you can perform the
following:
- Rename the role
- Change the Superior Role
- Change the setting for sharing data with Peers
While
changing the role names, all the data sharing rules will be updated
automatically. So you don't need to calculate the data sharing rules or
update the user details.
Note
- A user with an Administrator profile will have access to all the data irrespective of the role assigned to the user
To edit a Role
- Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Roles.
- In the Roles List, click the Role name.
- In the Role Details page, click Edit.
- In the Edit Role page, update the new properties for the role.
- Click Save.
Delete Roles
You cannot delete the existing roles without transferring the users to a new role.
To delete a Role
- Click Setup > Users & Permissions > Roles.
- In the Roles page, click the Role name.
- In the Role Details page, click Delete.
- In the Delete Role page, click on an existing Role to transfer the child-roles to the selected role.

- Click Transfer & Delete.
Now the role and child-roles are transferred to the new role and a different organization hierarchy is created.